Lane County clerk certifies May Primary Election results

Primary election results across the state of Oregon began being tallied on May 17, 2022. With Governor Kate Brown having reached her two-term limit and US Congressman DeFazio, the representative of Oregon’s 4th District, deciding not to seek re-election this year, the November ticket will have some important upcoming races for Oregon voters to decide. The last day for the Lane County clerk to post final election results was June 13, 2022.

In the primary races for Governor, Tina Kotek took 52.06% of the Democratic vote with 275,301 votes. Kotek beat out Tobias Read and more than 10 other candidates. On the Republican side, support for Governor seemed stratified, with Christine Drazan winning 22.54% of her party’s votes or 85,255 out of a total of 378,316 votes. Drazen won her primary against opponents Bob Tiernan (17.47%), Stan Pulliman (10.87%), and others.

Incumbent US Senator Ron Wyden handily won his primary race on the Democrat side of the ticket. According to the Lane County government’s election results website, Wyden won 88.79% of the state’s Democratic support. William E. Barlow III was the next popular Democratic candidate for the US Senate seat, with 7.07% of the vote or 35,025 total votes.

Senator Wyden’s opponent in November will be Republican Jo Rae Perkins. At the state level, Perkins took 33.03% of the Republican vote (115,701 votes) to beat out Darin Harbick, who took 30.69% or 107,506 of the total votes. Harbin was the favorite of the two amongst Lane County voters, but Perkins persevered with votes coming in from elsewhere in the state.

Last year, Congressman Peter DeFazio (D), the representative of Oregon’s 4th Congressional District since 1987, announced that he would not seek re-election. Instead, the winner of the Democratic primary, Val Hoyle, who DeFazio has endorsed, will go up against Alek Skarlatos, who was unopposed in the Republican primary race for the district. 

Hoyle won her primary with 63.54% of support from Democratic voters. She beat out Doyle Canning and several other candidates with 56,153 out of a total 88,378 votes. Skarlotos won 58,655 Republican votes in his primary race. 

Skarlatos is a former Army National Guardsman who helped stop a gunman on a Paris-bound train in 2015. He ran against DeFazio in a heated contest in 2020 but lost with 46.26% of the vote to DeFazio’s 51.58%. This November, the Hoyle vs. Skarlotos race will likely be one to watch.

In a close race for the Lane County Commissioner, Springfield, Position 2 seat, David Loveall beat out incumbent Joe Berney. Loveall garnered 50.17% of the vote (7,424 votes) against Joe Berney’s 49.51% (7,326 votes) out of a total of 14,797 votes.

For the Lane County Commissioner East, Position 5 seat, which encompasses Cottage Grove, Heather Buch won the race with 51.11% of the vote (9,680 votes). Her opponent, Kyle Blain, garnered 48.6% (or 9,205) of the total 18,939 votes.

For the State Senator, 4th District seat, Floyd Prozanski won the Democratic primary race unopposed. Prozanski earned 14,876 votes or 98.91% of the total vote. On the other side of the ticket, no candidate officially filed for the Republican primary race for this seat.

The State Representative 12th District Democratic primary winner is Michelle Emmons, who ran unopposed. Emmons garnered 5,108 votes or 97.99% of total Democratic votes. In the November election, Charlie Conrad will be Emmons’ competitor. Conrad beat out several Republican opponents in his primary race, winning with 30.50% of the vote or 2,400 of 7,868 total votes.

For more information about Oregon’s primary election results or upcoming elections this November, please visit Maps of the state’s newly redrawn election districts can be found at

Video News
More In Home